Pullin' an Office Space

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BennyLovesSaugeyes, Jul 3, 2008.

1. I work in the Engineering Consulting Field, doing AutoCAD drafting, and lil bit of design work here and there for the last 7 years. I must admit, I get my job done, but I'm far from being a work horse.

I arrive at between 8 and 9:30 am, not consistantly at any one time. Some days I get here at 8:15, the next day I get here at 9... I'm a loser like that. Then when Lunch comes around, I'm usually rockin' out a hour plus lunch hour. Sometimes I'll take 90 minutes for lunch if we go to KAHOOTS to eat. To tops things off, I usually leave at 5pm on the dot, work a total of 7 hours a day on a LONG DAY. I also spend the majority of my day posting on the OGF or checking for celebrity pictures on Egotastic/Hollywood Tuna. This doesn't even cover my dress code issues. I usually wear my ripped up Gap Jeans, a wrinkled t-shirt, and for this whole week I've worn flip flops everyday. I also take around 10 cigarette breaks a day as well, and when I drop a duece here, I'm taking a minimum of 30 minutes. Hey, I'm getting paid to smoke and poop. ONLY IN AMERICA.

Today, the owner calls me in his office, tells me to close the door. In my head, I'm like OH MY! I'm busted, it's never good to get called in the office the day before a holiday break. I'm thinking... PINK SLIP TIME.

He starts talking to me, telling me how I bust my butt, get all my work done ahead of time, and always work sundays to get my job done. He tells me I'm getting a raise and more responsibility. He also told me if all Employees had a work ethic like me, they could avoid a lot of problems.

So in the end, I walked away with 3500 more dollars per year, and now two students are directly below me.... Explain that to me..

2. Lewzer

Lewzer Powderfinger

Hey Benny,
    You don't work for the state govt. do you?:p What's your boss' email address so we can send him a link????;)