Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9,534 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was just wondering if muzzle loaders are considered "firearms" as in the type that "felons" cannot own? I know they could probably get licenses and tags for "bow" hunting which is included in the primitive seasons. Theres so much 'hearsay' on primitive weapons, this thought just crossed my mind and I thought someone on here might have a legal definition.

·
useless poster
8,806 Posts
you can buy a muzzleloader right thru the mail,as long as you are 18. cabelas and bass pro will ship them to your door no problem. even at walmart you do not have to fill out the questionare for them to check you out.

·
Registered
430 Posts
How can you call a modern muzzle loader a primitive weapon? I mean come on!! Shotgun primers, electronic ignition. You suppose Davey Crockett had an extra battery for his Kentucky Rifle? lol.....I started shooting Muzzleloaders when I was 9 years old, my father still builds them to this day. I'd like to see them have a REAL primitive weapons season, Not a high powered rifle season.

·
Premium Member
10,887 Posts
I'd like to see them have a REAL primitive weapons season, Not a high powered rifle season.
I wouldn't.

As long as you still pour the powder down the barrel and shove home a bullet I'm fine with it.

Or we could have a season for single shot shotguns only, or pumps, or a bow season for recurves and long bows only, or maybe compounds but shot with fingers only no releases, how about a bow season for bows with just wheels no cams allowed.

We live in a world where hunters need to support each other no matter what weapon they choose to to hunt with. This idea reminds me of the same old crossbow versus longbow debate that has been raging since crossbows were first legalized back in the 70's.

·
the Susan Lucci of OGF
16,042 Posts