close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Portage Lakes

Discussion in 'Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by lcountry78, May 13, 2004.

1. Hello all, this is my first time at this site. I live on East Resevoir with my brother(ViperCountry911). We have been fishing almost every day this month but not getting the full stringers like we would like. We're catching bass mostly under 1 1/2 lbs. on husky jerks, tubes and spinnerbaits. The water has really warmed up this past week so hopefully things will improve. I would love to find out what everyone else is catching the big bass on.

2. Procraftboats21

Procraftboats21 Original OGF Member

alot of bass at portage are on beds or the bucks are crusing the banks. try 6'' lizards.

3. Alwsfishin

Alwsfishin '73 24' Stamas

If they're on the beds.........just let them do their thang!!! ;)

4. I tried the 6" Strike King XXX lizard Friday and caught a few fish. I tried out a new style that I saw on a fishing program. You hollow out a small area in the lizards head and shove a 1/16 oz. bullet weight inside. It worked good, I didn't catch as much moss and sludge as a texas rig, plus it stands on end in the water.

5. ncraft150

ncraft150 Buckeye-Basser

Those xxx plastics are great because they float. The only thing I don't like about them is they stick together to much.

6. Alwsfishin

ProCraft....here we go??????.............please explain.

7. Procraftboats21

Procraftboats21 Original OGF Member

its not worth arguing over, i guess everyone has their own oppinion

8. Alwsfishin

Who's arguing???..........either you contribute to the decimation of certain species or you don't....its that simple.....thanks for your reply.

9. No one is out to decimate a species. Don't overreact. You could say the same thing for walleye, perch, gills, crappie, smallies, steelhead, or just about any other fish.