Portage Lakes Frozen?

Discussion in 'Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by cheezemm2, Feb 8, 2008.

1. cheezemm2

cheezemm2 Ohio State Alumni 05'

Has anyone been by the lakes lately? I just wanted to know how much if any ice is left on them. Specifically, Long Lake. I have some new toys to try out for the kayak:D

2. There is ice, but's it's rotten and totally unsafe. BTW, nobody fishing off of T's today either.

3. I think he wanted to take his kayak out.

4. Robert Woodson

Robert Woodson Woody in Akron

Hey Cheezemm2,
    If you put your kayak in behind the Kiwanis on the channel there you might make it onto the main lake at Long. It is down the street towards the Harbour Iinn from District 3 and T's Long Lake Bait and Tackle, if you get to State Mill rd. you have gone too far. The ice out here appears pretty rotten to me, but I'm no expert. At least there is enought clear water there for a short shakedown cruise for your kayak and a chance for some fishing too. (Good to see you on here Ice Bucket John!).
    Good Fishing,
    Woody in Akron
    (Portage Lakes/Coventry)

5. good luck with tryin to put in there man...theres about 50 dudes that fish there every day...you'd have to paddle through lines bobbers and minnies hahaaaa.

6. cheezemm2

cheezemm2 Ohio State Alumni 05'

Didn't get the kayak out on Saturday because most were still locked up pretty well. Yesterday's wind put an end to that. Winter can't decide if it wants us on the ice or not. Long and East were almost wide open yesterday after the wind. Any ice that forms today is going to get a pile of snow on it. Just can't win lately...maybe I need to take the yak down to the tusc. and sit for channels:confused:

7. Robert Woodson

Hi Cheezemm2,