close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

pear shaped puffball

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by twistertail, Jul 11, 2008.

1. Had a decent sized puffball in the back yard I picked last night, about twice the size of a softball. The skin was already tan so not sure if its still good or not. I have ate the giant puffballs before but not these, anyone had them? I thought it was usually fall before you would find puffballs but the last 2 years in the same spot I've had one come up about the same time.

2. sporty

sporty OGF Team - Charter Member

How do they taste in comparison to morels? I've never tried them before.

3. ErieAngler

ErieAngler Still Deadly w/ The Net

how do you clean and prepare a puffball? what do they taste like? I cant even imagine what their consistency is like...... Ive only eaten morels but have come across a lot of puff balls.

4. Mushijobah

Mushijobah Urban Angler

I would love to see answers to both those questions!

5. Taste similar to morels but more firm texture, about like pizza mushrooms(forget what they are called). Not nearly as good as morels but hey when you see one in the back yard may as well eat it!;)

6. I love morels. I do not love puffballs. There's an odd, almost chemically taste to them. ...And I personally would not equate morels to the typical, rubbery pizza fare!

7. i dont think morels taste like pizza mushrooms either, i was trying to say that the texture of the puffballs are similar to pizza shrooms.

8. Ah, thanks for clarification.

9. sporty

sporty OGF Team - Charter Member

I might have to read up on these a bit more and try them.

10. shroomhunter

shroomhunter USMC 1979-1983