Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Banned
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I used to read in the older fishing papers about the pay lakes in central/southern Ohio. Full of big cats,partying and camping. What are they like? What's your experience there? Are they fun places to have a few (many) drinks and catch some super big cats and pass out in the tent?

I have zero experience with these pay lakes except for some trout at a farm and Lake Hodgeson if that even counts as a real pay lake.

Just trying to hear a few stories and what the vibes are like at these places.

(Side note, I recall something about operation Mudcat or of the like,busting the pay lakes many of years ago and people selling big blues and flats to these lakes)

·
Registered
911 Posts
Participation trophies >pay pay lakes. It took 7 years for me to establish a single big cat spot (Let alone figuring out many other factors and techniques after that)and see little challenge in going to an undersized pond to catch mostly poached fish over and over. I can’t imagine what kind of crowd shows up there.

·
Banned
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Participation trophies >pay pay lakes. It took 7 years for me to establish a single big cat spot (Let alone figuring out many other factors and techniques after that)and see little challenge in going to an undersized pond to catch mostly poached fish over and over. I can’t imagine what kind of crowd shows up there.
Thanks for the feedback but I dont think you understand this post or what it was about. I want to point out that it's not about speculation of the character of whom goes there,participation trophies or finding "wild spots",although I would imagine people who want to catch big catfish,families, kids and other would attend,truly I dont know the vibes and that's why I'm asking.
I do appreciate the knowledge you dropped about them though.

·
Registered
1,012 Posts