close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Painting steps?

Discussion in 'Tackle Making' started by Cutt'em Jack, Apr 26, 2008.

1. Cutt'em Jack

Cutt'em Jack Musky Madman

I have a question for all you lure artists out there. When you start painting, do you have a "workbook" so to speak with all the colors you need and the steps to paint them in? I seem to just grab and go and halfway through, I'll remember that I should of done something prior to get a certain look to a lure. I'm a complete beginner so I'm just trying to figure out how I should do it. Should I start a "workbook" so to speak with certain lure colors and painting steps, or do you all do it by memory? I just got the okay from the doctor to start using the right foot and am planning on getting down to the airbrush. I need a LOT of practice, and what better time to do it, right? Thanks!

2. Cutt'em, It's good to hear that you are well on the road to recovery. In an answer to your question about a list, not really, but it sound's like a real good idea. I use reference material like actual photo's or artist renderings to do semi-lifelike pattern's. I'll also use a lure catalogue for various " New and Hot", pattern's or variation's of them. And most of all, I look at what Tigger,Vince,RJ,Pete and all other Cutting Edge lurecrafter's are doing,LOL!