close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

O'Shaughnessy Carp Killer

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by Ray-Ray, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Hey guys. Stopped by this place on the way home from work on Tuesday with a friend from work. First visit to the bottom of the dam, nice spot. Anyway, there was a young boy fishing off the point on the west side of the river. He had caught 3 carp around 5-10 ppunds each and continue to pull in 5 more over the next hour and a half. (We caught one bass on a spinner) Here is the weird part. This young man was using 4 rods and was keeping the carp on a stringer. I am no expert fisherman, but mama always told me to throw them things back. The kid had a killer spot on the point where the water dropped off in depth and I am sure the cats and carp sat down there waiting on some grub. I asked him what he was fishing with and he was using peanutbutter and oats in a ball. He also said he caught 28 carp the day before and HE TOOK THEM ALL HOME TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO EAT! Found out he was Brazilian. I guess my gripe is:

1. Four rods in the water is BS. I thought the rule or law was 2?
    2. Carp are fun to catch AND RELEASE but homeboy pulled 35 fun fish out of a nice spot in 2 days which kind of stinks for the rest of us.

Just thought I would vent and give you a heads up in case you were hoping to hit this spot soon. Probably dry.
    Cheers
    Ray

2. Mushijobah

Mushijobah Urban Angler

Your concern is in the right area. Carp are prolific breeders, and non-native. In short, he put no harm in the Scioto's carp population. It is nice to see someone is finally taking advantage of Ohio's carp population. As for the 4rods, that is indeed BS.

3. Bassnpro1

Bassnpro1 OSU outdoorsman