close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Ohio River/NewCumberland L&D Area

Discussion in 'Ohio River Fishing Reports' started by Baitkiller, Aug 31, 2004.

1. Baitkiller

Baitkiller Baitkiller

Hello All
    Newbie here. I joined up to share and gather info on fishing the Flatheads.

The last two weekends that I was out I got skunked :( , with live Bullheads, Gills, White Bass and Crappies fer bait! (Hmmm hench the name "Baitkiller") This does not happen to me a lot on the river but just started on the flatheads Aug 2003. I've seen the post on Pile Island about only on Skipjack and will make up rigs to get some.

<><Baitkiller><>

2. save tthe skipjacks they are more of a spring time bait shad are producing good right now

3. Baitkiller

Baitkiller Baitkiller

Lark

Thanks for the info on the Shad. I was thinking on getting some local before I drive over to the Ohio River this Fri to fish. I've only used cutbait for Flatheads one time and have not had success with it yet. I did have one Skipjack last weekend and gave it to a guy before dark. He was getting Crappies with it than giving me the the Crappies for live bait. The train of thought was that the Flats maybe feeding on them if even the Crappies would take it. Plus no takers on the live bait that night.

I fish at Yellow Creek in Wellsville, Old Lock & Dam #8, at Kennedy Park and am looking for Old Lock & Dam #10 which should be about 11.2 miles south of the Newcumberland L&D. Just now learning a few spots to bankfish.

<><Baitkiller><>

4. Doctor

Doctor CJ Cat Attack Pack

Welcome to the board, thought that handle sounded familar from the BOC board.
    I fish that area a lot and the flatheads in the 5 to 10# range are thick and we catch them mainly on cut shad, I fish down below the Wellsville area of that stretch of the river around Rayland which is five miles below the Cardinal powerplant, if you need any help give me a shout........Doc

5. crappiebub