Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Caught a 10 inch WHITE Crappie this weekend at our pond. I'm the only person who fishes the pond, so I'm in control of keeping the population in control (with the advice of Jones Fish Co).

This was the first time I've caught a white crappie in the pond, And I've been fishing this pond for over 6 years. 4 years ago we caught about 20 black crappie in the spring on minnows. Jones Fish told me that we should keep all crappies, has they can over run a small pond.

With the emergence of some white crappie, is this something I should be worried about competing with our Largemouth???

Even more shocking, I caught the crappie on worm and bobber in our panfish section in about two feet of water. First crappie I've caught in my life not on jigs or minnies...

I'll post a picture tonight when I get home.

·
Catch bait???
4,018 Posts
JFH employee here ;) Sounds like you've received sound information!

Good likleyhood you just lucked into one of a few loners in the pond. If you had a lot of white crappies you'de know it. Ever fish a fathead under a minnow? That would give you a pretty good insight to the crappie population. 10" are undoubtedly sexually mature. If they we're successful as spawning for the past few years you'de know it.

·
Banned
798 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Don't know exact length, but I'm hitting up the pond on wednesday with minnies in the deep section. Considering I caught in 2 feet of water, I can imagine the amount of slabs in our pond hanging out in the deepest parts. I guess tomorrow I'll find out. BTW, here's the beauty. It taste delicious... Can't beat crappies IMO.

·
Registered
11,409 Posts