Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Permanent Part Time
2,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am rather new to night fishing.What I have found is the boat is a different world at night.Anything that is not in its place gets stepped on bumped ,snagged, or caught in the net.One of the problems I have is the fixed anchor light in the back of the boat.Seems like it is always shining in my eyes ruining what little night vision I have.I am looking for suggestions on lighting the boat for nite fishing.I use a headlamp to net fish and rig lines but I have seen other boats illuminate the back of their boats when they catch fish.Are these flood lamps a good idea?
What works for you? And is it necessary for the anchor light to be in back of boat?

·
useless poster
8,804 Posts
i use a cheap clamp on work light $5.00 @ walmart while your at walmart buy a 12 volt light bulb from the rv section (75watt) and install a cigarette lighter plug instead of the 110 volt plug or attach the end to your battery.

·
Permanent Part Time
2,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That is a good idea.Do you leave it lit or only light for fishon.

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
I use an enclosed "tractor" light from advance auto $12. mounted on about 4' 1 1/4" pvc that I can stick in a spare rod holder. It is a flood and has some concentration too. I also stick a piece of electrical tape on the stern light on the side that shines in my eyes. I wear a head lamp and have a mini-mag light in my back pocket. Oh, I only use the flood for landing and getting the dam plug out of the net:mad:

·
Permanent Part Time
2,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·

·
Registered
1,346 Posts

This is mysetup as far as board lights.

Donkey, you don't want to tape the whole light off just a 2" strip of tape to block what shines into your eyes and into the boat. You still need other boats to be able to see it.

·
Permanent Part Time
2,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
How is the bobber attached to the board

·