Ohio Game Fishing banner

Niagara Falls area

873 views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  bcnulater 
#1 ·
Has anyone been up to the lower Niagara or Olcott park yet?
Heading up in October to fish for kings in the lower river but have been giving some thought to trying Olcott park. Any tips on fishing the park would be appreciated.

#2 ·
I'm new to fishing olcott park area too, but I went up there about a month ago and caught one nice king and a nice brown trout in two days of fishing. Not as successful as I would have liked but enough to get me back up there again. When we were up there it we were using all dipsys and downriggers fishing in anywhere from 60-400 plus feet of water. However, I have been reading some reports up there lately and they say the fish are in real close now and there are lots of big kings, so I'm heading up there on monday and tuesday to see what I can get my hands on. My game plan is to take everything (inline boards, dipsy, jets, plugs, spoons, and my one downrigger) and talk to the guy at the slippery sinker (bait shop right the at the marina) and any other locals I can find to see whats up. Everybody was real friendly and helpful the last time I was there. I'll let you know how I do. Also check out this link http://olcottfishing.com/ . There seems to be all sorts of good stuff about fishing that area on this site. Hope this helps, wish me luck!

#3 ·
Talked with a good friend who's a charter captain on the lower Niagara, said it's starting to get good but fish are sparse. Should be great in 2 weeks though. Following from Bill Hilts report http://www.outdoorsniagara.com/bill_hilts_fish_locator.htm#1. Lake Ontario and Tributaries~