Next weekend: tips for a first timer?

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by Clayton, Nov 16, 2008.

1. Clayton

Clayton Fly guy

OK, I'm a college student (and Buckeye :)) and this weekend I had the crazy idea to go steelhead fishing... I am an okay fly fisherman, and an excellent bass fisherman, and was wondering if I might be able to get into some steelhead.

I was planning to use something like a mepps or a little cleo or some other sort of non-fly non-eggsack approach. I haven't got a noodle rod, and thanks to the wonderful economy lately I probably won't be buying one (and I KNOW I'll never convince my girlfriend to, and she's coming too). Is it possible to catch these fish on a bass rod? If I enjoy fishing for em, I'll probably stock up on gear, but I want to just hook in to one and see what I get.

I've never done this before, and I have no idea where to go or how to fish it. Where can I go to get some public access fishing that isn't going to be INSANELY CROWDED? I just wanna get hooked up a few times and see what it's like. The GF is not as good of a fisherperson as I am, but she's got the touch sometimes... is it fairly easy to catch these fish if you fish thoroughly, or are they picky sometimes?

Tell me everything that seems important :) Thanks in advance!

2. Kastmaster93

Kastmaster93 Cleveland based fisherman