Newbie looking for some advice

Discussion in 'Panfish Discussions' started by FishinFreak26, Sep 21, 2007.

1. I am brand new to boat fishing and have been hitting alot of the local lakes.

I would like to start fishing for crappie, but have never targeted them before.

What are some setups, methods, baits etc that might help me hook into a few?

I C&R everything I catch, so size doesn't matter too much to me. I just want some action.

I do have a fish finder, so is there anything special I should be looking for when targeting a spot?

Lately, I've been marking tons of fish at the base of drop offs, right around 20-30 FOW in what appears to be grassy bottom. From what I've read, this is where the crappie hang out, but I've anchored up and can't seem to get them to bite.

Thanks in advance, this site has helped me a ton so I'm sure you guys won't disappoint.

Dave

2. NorthSouthOhioFisherman

NorthSouthOhioFisherman The Young Outdoorsman

try a small jig-n-minno mb will get em' if that doesnt work then idk but if shore fishing in less than 15ft. a slip bobber and minno works great!

3. Thanks for the response. I got into a few of them today with a basic hook and sinker and some minnows. Fish finder helped a ton, not sure I could have had as much luck without it.

Thanks again!

4. crittergitter

crittergitter Multi Species Angler

Crappies are looking to move shallower. Look for the wind blown shore to hold pods of baitfish. The crappie should be holding in 6 to 10 fow. If it's still hot and not much wind, you may look for them around 15 to 18 fow. However, I don't think they are holding much deeper than that. Cold front this week may slow things down this weekend. Sunday might be better than Saturday. Fall turnover isn't to far off and then it could get real tough.

My primary method right now would be to use a bass minnow on a 1/16 oz jig or a 1/8 oz jig. A 3" twister tail(charteruse or white) might work on those jigs as well.

CG