close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

newbie here need reel and flyline opinons

Discussion in 'Fish on the Fly' started by iam20fan, Feb 23, 2009.

1. just bought my first fly rod yesterday. its a cheap 20$ bass pro shops model. its not the white river brand. i need a reel and flyline. i already bought some backing and liters.i dont want to spend over 50$ for the reel. i will be fishing mostly for smallmouth in the rivers around dayton. mostly at the west carrollton dam and englewood dam and kiser lake. i can cast but its not pretty. will some sone explain to me the weight system of the flyline? what do the numbers mean? anyone know if that flyshop in centerville is still open? any info will be very helpful. maybe someone here could take me out sometime and show me the basics.

Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
  2. Clayton

Clayton Fly guy

the numbers have no real meaning of their own. Each number higher means heavier line, and corresponds with the weight of the rod that will throw that line most efficiently.

I probably would have gone with a package deal, were I in your shoes... Decent fly line is going to cost you at least 30 bucks, so heads up on that one. I use orvis clearwater right now and couldn't be happier. take care of it (i.e. occasionally clean and use a line conditioner on it, then let it sit for a day) and it'll last a long time. As for a reel... again, the kit would have been a good call since reels that are sold by themselves are more expensive overall. A decent reel is over 100 bucks :-\

That being said, if you go on cabelas or BPS you can probably find an entry level reel. Just grab one of those and you'll be fine - IMO, the reel rarely causes too much fuss in fly fishing, as long as it balances your rod and holds the line. Get a mid-arbor reel if you can - less line curling as a result.