Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Average Member
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am just getting started with my own boat, and have decided to keep it docked in Sandusky. I have fished lake erie for a few years, but only out of Fairport harbor and on someone else's boat. It seems the tactics are quite different there from the western basin.

I took the boat out Saturday for the first time this year, and had no success fishing north of Kelleys.

I just setup the boat with a planer mast, so I don't quite have the hang of it yet.

I tried using a 20 jet diver with a spoon, a spoon behind a deep diving crankbait, and small dipseys with crawler harnesses. We were marking quite a few fish, both suspended and near the bottom. From all of the talk on the radio, it seemed that the bite was slow all over, but it did sound like there was a bite. Most people were drifting, but I am not sure what was being used.

What would you recommend as a good starting tactic to use, assuming you were fishing around the islands ?

Was I doing something wrong Saturday, or was the bite just not happening?

I know a lot of the answer to this is personal preference, but I would appreciate any advice that you could give me.

I am planning on fishing this coming Saturday and the following Saturday and Sunday.

Thanks in advance,
Todd

·
Registered
301 Posts
Hey Todd. The bite was tough on saturday. we trolled for a couple hours in the morning and only managed one. the spoon bite should be picking up any time now.