close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New to ice fishing

Discussion in 'Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by rolland, Jan 14, 2008.

1. rolland

rolland Fishing Noob

Well I found this site a few weeks ago and you guys turned me from a sitting in a chair watching a bobber dround worms guy into someone who wants to catch fish. I found out a lot about shore fishing and dif ways to improve what I was doing.

Well, time to put all that knowlage on hold till spring I guess :( . With the weather outlook, it looks like we will be ice fishing soon. I have never been ice fishing, so im a total noob at it im sure. I will be hitting probibly milton, berlin, misquito this winter.

What im wondering is any general knowlage that might help me research for my first trip, I have warm clothes, boots and I know I need to get a small ogger (not sure on spelling). I dont want to buy a blind untill I see if I enjoy it enough for the investment.

What im really wondering is, what species are common to shot for ice fishing locally. I think the more I research these species the more I will know about habit, location and baits to bring. Also are there any umm.. "common locations" to ice fish or does everyone kinds spread therwout the lake? Like i said im looking around the milton, misquito area.

TY for any advice in advance.

2. First, haven't ice fished in 25 yrs....I was not good at it when I did it.

This site has a search function that will help you find all kinds of info about ice fishing. About 2" down from the top and near the right edge you will find "search". Learn how it works and you can find info on almost anything fishing....any time of day.

Hit me with a PM if you need an ice auger. Might have one in the garage.

Good luck....be safe out there.

3. Spend some time visiting guys already on the ice. Ask questions. Observe. Don't be afraid to introduce yourself and tell them you're new at it.

Best Wishes & Good Fishing.

4. snake69