close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

new to fishing on the LMR and GMR - general advice?

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by GatorB, Aug 13, 2008.

1. hey guys,

i'm new to fishing the GMR and LMR. i'm from tennessee, so most of my fishing done there was either on farm ponds or on the tennessee river. the GMR and LMR are a different ballgame for me.

what general lures and/or live bait is good for fishing the GMR and LMR? i've caught a few small saugeye on plastic grubs and even pulled in a small flathead on a jig. but usually when i go out there, i get skunked. i see people fishing with wheatie balls and nightcrawlers without much luck.

do you think live minnows would work well? what techniques do you recommend for artificial lures?

also, what types of areas on the rivers (not looking for specific areas) do you target? holes beneath rapids? mouths of backwater channels? etc..?

finally, would you recommend wading the LMR without hip waders?

2. I generally fish for smallies. You can find them close to current. Throw to the slack water side of a current break. I especially like eddies against the shore. Look for obstructions breaking the current like fallen trees, rootballs, boulders, just about anything offering an escape from the direct current. Bridge supports can also be good and you can often see current breaks around them. Sometimes you can find them in the riffles itself. Soft plastics such as tubes, flukes can shine being drifted with the current. Inline spinners, crankbaits, also spinnerbaits and buzzbaits are other options, but not so much in the riffles except for the use of buzzbaits. Wheatie balls are generally used for carp. Nightcrawlers will catch just about anything that swims. Minnows can be good for bass also. Just my 2 cents.

3. bucket full of creek chubs they catch bout anything in the river bag full of 2 to 3 inch twister tails assorted colors with 1/16 0z jig head.for the wade or float