Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My boyfriend and I have just started fishing these past couple of weeks.. I am new to fishing but not to the area and he is the opposite. He just wants to catch some good sized fish and I really want catfish! Tired of catching these tiny sunfish ): we take our daughter fishing at homestead for fun. He and I just went to Griggs reservoir last night and still nothing good... Any advice on locations, specific spots and what kind of bait! We've just been using the really big worms... I think night crawlers but I could be wrong.. Thanks!

·
Registered
366 Posts
Hilliard Municipal Park is a good place to start. Griggs is really low right now.

·
Baller Member
923 Posts
fish the east side of griggs at night...there is a deep channel in there that is a channel cat highway! chicken livers or cut shad work well....you have to go when there are no trailers in the parking lot else you will be pulling in your lines a ton....10 pm is a good start time there

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Psst, try the west shore of Griggs, turn off Fishinger at Rivers Gate, looks like you're entering a gated community but there's a park entrance.
Thank you! We will have to try that this weekend! We turned off of riverside last night

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
fish the east side of griggs at night...there is a deep channel in there that is a channel cat highway! chicken livers or cut shad work well....you have to go when there are no trailers in the parking lot else you will be pulling in your lines a ton....10 pm is a good start time there
Where exactly would I go/park? I'm not familiar with fishing there

·
Baller Member
923 Posts
the entrance to that area is off riverside (33), right across the street from subway and you can park anywhere...there are many boat docks to fish off of, as well as many shore line spots

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #9