close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New to fishing in Columbus area

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by ajangsta04, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Hello everyone, I am a student here at Ohio State and just recently I got into fishing.

I was wondering where some of you guys go fishing in the columbus area.

I am not asking for your spots per say but which area of the pool i should be gearing towards.

i fish mostly bass and catfish however i do want to end the year with some muskie.

if anyone wants to show me some spots for both day fishing and night fishing i'd toss in a lunch.

much appreciated

2. Columbusslim31

Columbusslim31 Student of Finjitsu

I'm a bank fisherman myself. I'm not really new to fishing but this is the first year I started getting serious about it and fishing independently of my father who got me started. As a result, I primarily fish spots that my father has taken me to. I mostly fish Hoover Dam, the Red Bank area. The bank is very large with a lot of room to walk around and choose spots to fish from. I too am looking for some good spots to fish (from the bank). I hope this helps. If anyone else has suggestions, I'd also like to hear them.

3. shwookie

shwookie fishing from a kayak

You can't really go wrong over at griggs below the dam. It gets tons of pressure though. Also the fish tend to be smaller, although I have pulled 4 16"+ smallies out of there this year, most tend to be quite a bit smaller.
    It has tons of good access and it does produce. I have caught all kinds of fish there, usually smallies and catfish though.

4. where do u park to get to the area below the dam?

5. shwookie

shwookie fishing from a kayak

Either right down by the water or along the road to it. Its behind the police station on riverside, about 1/2mile south of fishinger. You can't miss it.