close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New to area

Discussion in 'Southeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by KMBerry, Apr 7, 2008.

1. Hi all,

First post. Spent lots of time reading and learning but want lots more info.

My wife and I will soon be moving to Athens (grad students at OU). We fished quite a bit when we lived in northern California, a little when we moved to Madison, WI and absolutely none since moving to Chicago. Most depressing of all, the very last time we went out my wife caught a beautiful brook trout and I got skunked! As such, once we get up to Athens in August we really want to get our shore fishing lines wet. I've had some experience fishing for bass, crappie, etc. but I do miss my rivers with steelhead and such. My questions are these:
    1) What local shop should be my first stop? I'm almost completely ignorant of the area and, to some degree, even of the fish available in these parts!
    2) We almost always combine camping and hiking with the fishing, and I enjoy bouldering. Please recommend anything that might fit that bill.
    3) Is there any trout fishing (and boats to rent) in the general area when we get that urge?
    4) If you're a former river salmonid fishing couple, what would you recommend as our new target(s)? I like to eat at least a bit of what I catch, so muskie is right out...though I would enjoy c&r'ing them. I enjoy bass, too, but I'm just wondering what varieties and species of fish we'll have available.

Thanks much!

2. well hi i guess is do. there is many places to hike fish and camp. but if you ask me some of the best is the aep lands in southeast ohio. you can check em out at aep recreation lands. and the best thing is they are free to use. all you need is your slip, wich is free online. as far as the fish out there. everything from sunfish to cat fish. just down the road from them at blue rock state park they do let come trout go. hope this helps some. best wishes and good lock. jason