Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im struggling to determine what exactly the switch to by county zoning changed? My question is can you shoot say 3 deer in a 3 deer county and 3 more in another 3 deer county? The wording in the regs is at best vague and i talked to a wildlife officer around a month ago and he said he didnt get it either and was waiting on their rules interp meeting. Anybody who has a clarification that would be great and thanks ahead of time.

·
Registered
681 Posts
As far as I understand it ( I am no expert and I am sure someone more knowledgable will jump in) you can shoot 3 in a county and 3 more in another county as long as both of those counties are 3 deer counties with a maximum of 9 deer for the entire year and only 1 of them can be a buck. I would also be interested in why others think.

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

·
Carp53.65
4,196 Posts
It goes by zone. There is zone A, B, and C. So every county in the zone would have a bag limit on that zone as a whole. Say you are allowed 3 deer in zone C once you have taken 3 deer in that zone you would have to hunt counties in zones A and B to kill additional deer.

·
Registered
887 Posts
As far as I understand it ( I am no expert and I am sure someone more knowledgable will jump in) you can shoot 3 in a county and 3 more in another county as long as both of those counties are 3 deer counties with a maximum of 9 deer for the entire year and only 1 of them can be a buck. I would also be interested in why others think.

This is the way I read it too.

·
I jig therefore I am!
5,318 Posts

·
Carp53.65
4,196 Posts
Guess I was incorrect on the zones. Obviously they have changed things. This will probably get more deer taken because you will no longer have to travel across the state to kill additional deer. Now you can just go over to the next county. Said that less then 1 percent take more than 4 deer. I would expect this number to rise.