close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New pair of carp rods and reels.

Discussion in 'Carp Discussions' started by BigChessie, Jul 12, 2005.

1. BigChessie

BigChessie BIG PIMPIN' "GIGELO"

Thanks to the USPS guy I will have a package waiting on me tonight when I get off work. Has anyone ever used a Okuma Epixor EB-40 reel? State side you can only get the EB-50 and 60 so the EB-40 came from across the pond. They are mounted on Balzer (carbon-kevlar) 2.25TC 10' rods. I am still a novice at this carp'n so I have never heard of either rod or reel. Just wondering what the 2.25TC stands for and if anyone is familar with either the rods or reels. Will be catching upper teens and a few 20+ fish with them.Well let me say will be TRYING to catch those size fish. lol

2. crappielooker

crappielooker The Corn Chucker

you'll be fine big man.. just bring them out to clark.. :)

3. TimJC

TimJC Carp Angler

That sounds like a nice setup. That's the kind of setup I want to get for the pond I fish (shorter rod, lower TC, smaller reels).

2.25TC means that it takes 2.25 pounds to bend the rod tip 90 degrees from the blank. So, ideally your drag should be set to no more that the TC of the rod. Softer rods will allow you better play under the rod tip with less hook pulls than higher TC rods.

2.5TC is probably the most common rod weight, and a lot of people step up to 2.75TC, because is allows more backbone for places like alum where you don't want the fish running along the zebras.