close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New here! Would love some advice (bait/lures)!

Discussion in 'Bass Discussions' started by GordonJ, Jun 23, 2005.

1. Hey guys,

I recently started fishing the Scioto river (3-4 days ago actually). I found a nice little cove off the main river, very secluded and clam, fair amount of weeds and logs, and lots of fish seem to be splashing, so I've been fishing it the past couple days.
    Now I love to fish, but I'm NO expert, and I'm not after monster lunkers....just anything that will bite, basically

I've got a nice pair of river waders and new gear (both a medium action Shakespeare Ugly Stik spinng rod/reel and a baitcasting rod/reel), and I'm anxious to start hooking some bass (anything really, but bass are the most appealing).

I was wondering if anyone could offer some advice about different baits and lures to use? I'm wondering just what the best overall lures and baits are, that will produce results in most situations.
    So far I've tried some very small plastic whirly-tail jigs (maybe about the size of your pinky fingernail), caught 1 baby largemouth measuring maybe 7-8 inches, and had a several other nibbles and tugs, but I'm wondering if there's some better tactics out there.
    I've got a fairly nice selection of plastic worms, but I'm always afraid I might be limiting myself by choosing too big a lure....I'm willing to catch anything! Not just the big guys!

So

1. What is the best all-around lures/baits to use for bass that produce good results?

2. How long should you try the same spot without a bite?

3. Whats a generally good area for bass? Like water depth/cover/temperature, etc? In my area, the deepest seems to be about 6-7 feet, and being 5'10, I can wade up to my chest.

4. Best times of day? I usually go in the evening, from 6pm till dark.

I really appreciate any and all help offered. I just discovered this site on a google search and hope I can learn alot here!