Ohio Game Fishing banner

New fly fisherman for smallies

1K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  Fishaholic69 
#1 ·
I was wanting to know what are to common lures for small mouth and the retrieval techniques used for those lures?

Thanks for any help

Ron

#2 ·
I'll second this post.

I spoke with a gentleman at the Bass Pro Shops fly fishing section, he says crawdad patterns work the best, but terrestrials (grasshoppers, ants, spiders, etc.) and streamers (minnow patterns) work well too. I don't know much about retrieval yet.

PS - I'm new to flyfishing too and just learned those terms this week

#3 ·
I've just started fly fishing as well. So far, so good, even with smallies.

So far I've caught smallies on clouser minnow, wolly buggers, foam spiders and poppers/sneaky petes.

Clouser minnow was very effective back in somewhat cooler weather, letting it drift some then curl out when it reached the end of the line (this is where I really got some aggressive bites) and then stripping it in fairly aggressively to give it a bit of a swimming look.

Wooly bugger was effective last weekend at my usual spot using the same approach.

My guess is: dumb luck on my part.

#4 ·