Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For 3 nightsbthis weekend I fished hard for cats. Used everything from night callers to Shad to minnows. Fished Berlin for 2 nights and tried about 5 good spots and got nothing, not even a bight. I thought they might be spawning so we went to Atwood last night and the same thing happened. I'm pretty new to catfishing so I need some advice from someone. Thank you.

·
Registered
1,677 Posts
It seems those 5 good spots weren't so good if you caught nothing, Berlin usually gives me a bunch of catfish, as does Westbranch. Berlin even during the daytime I catch cats. Must have just been a bad time or your spot of choice isn't very good.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Was at Leesville yesterday and today. Last night the fish shut off around 8. I mean completely shut down! Dink bluegills weren't even biting at all. Put a light at the end of the dock, couldn't bring more than 3 minnows after 30 minutes. Had chicken livers out on bottom without a single bite. Don't worry you didn't do anything wrong, the conditions just shut the bite off all weekend. Trolled from Petersburg to the dam, did some casting, and drifting. Nothing!

·
Registered
986 Posts
I've been fishing for catfish all my life, this still happens to me pretty often. Sometimes they just aren't biting, lol. There is a lot of helpful information here on the boards that can help you up your chances, but even then sometimes they just aren't there.

·
Registered
355 Posts
Agreed that its highly possible that they just weren't biting! Catfish, IMO, are one of the the easier species to catch, if there is such a thing lol.

Fish the evening into night, fish on or near the bottom, use anything from nightcrawlers, minnows, cut bait, livers, shrimp, hot dogs, etc. and sit and be patient. A lot if times they will hit/bite once then come back and take it.