close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New 2 muskie fishing need info!!!!

Discussion in 'Muskie & Pike Discussions' started by striperswiper, Jan 13, 2009.

1. striperswiper

striperswiper Catfisherman for life;)

I'm new to muskie fishing and was wondering what kind of baits to use,what lb line wld be the best,what kind of baits things like that thanx for any info.!.

2. Check out the Ohio Muskie Show. I think it's the last weekend of Feb. at the Buckeye Hall of Fame Cafe in Columbus. Last year was my first trying for muskie(still haven't caught one).I went to last years show, met a lot of nice people, learned a lot and picked up a few baits.

3. Stiper-
    It wouldn't be a bad idea for you to check out some of the other shows listed on the forum also. Then you don't have to wait so long for a fix!! PLUS-the Butler show and the one just west of Akron will be very educational!!!!!! They will have local/regional experts that are experienced on the waters that you will be fishing.
    Casting is a lot of fun, but I've had to adapt alot to the way it works here in Ohio-TROLLING. Once you get the hang of it, it can be just as fun as casting plus you get to have 2 rods in the water per angler! These smaller/region specific shows have the "best of the best" speeking at them. Also, the BEST trolling lure manufacturers will be at the BUTLER show where you can talk to them face to face!
    These shows will give you a great start. Post questions or feel free to PM anytime. There are some really great muskie fisherman on this website so you're in good hands. -Gabe

4. Will you be trolling, casting, or both?

5. striperswiper

We will mainly be trolling but might do a few casts lol

6. MuskieJim

MuskieJim Trophy Tamer