Need suggestions?

Discussion in 'Bass Discussions' started by tipul3, Apr 22, 2008.

1. I am what I would call a Junior bass fisherman, although I am 44 years old and have fished my whole life I am still learning and really enjoy it. I only fish local ponds around the Mansfield area, no boat. I have been out 5 times this spring. The first 3 times I caught 35 smaller Largemouth mostly on smaller crappie type spinner baits and rubber worms. The last 2 times I have been out which was this past Sunday and today I did'nt even get a bite??? I used the same presentation as the first 3 times same lures and then I even went to buzz baits and crank baits?? Any suggestions would be great. At the ponds on Sunday i could see the bass but the really did'nt seem interested or they would swim to it and back off? When this would happen i would change lures or presentations but nothing worked.Anyone who might know of a pond near the Mansfield area that might let me fish please let me know. :) Also what do you recommend for trying to catch larger bass, probably the biggest I have caught would only be a couple pounds?

2. A place you might want to fish is Sites Lake. It is part of Charles Mill...... a small pond that has public access. You can find it off of St Rte. 30 on Trout Drive. I have caught some very nice bass there.... 5-6 pounders.

Spinner baits, jig n pigs, soft plastic swim baits, trick worms and chatter baits work well for me. Basically throw everything you have at them. I've had times where I couldn't get a fish and finally went to another bait and caught five in one hour, in the same water I had just covered. In the situation you described though I would try a wacky worm, drop shot or carolina rigged worm, worked very slow.