close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Need Some Guidance

Discussion in 'Ohio River Fishing Reports' started by SAUGEYECRAPPIEMAN, Jan 17, 2009.

1. Ok, I'm new to the Cincinnati area right next to Kings Island, (Formerly Columbus) so I will like to fish the Ohio rivers for saugeyes and catfish. My problems is, I don't know were to but in at on the river (boat ramp or directions). I here people talking about skip jacks, how do you catch those and where? Again I've never been there so any information will be appreciated. I'm not looking for you honey holes, depth and structure will be fine. Thanks in advance.

2. Fishman

Fishman Catch bait???

Meldhals a good place when the conditions are right. If ya search for skipjacks on the forums you fill a lot of post in regards to how the catch them. White twistertails are a good start if you want to keep it simple.

3. Fishman

Fishman Catch bait???

I-71S to 275E to 52E till ya see the dam on the right.

Not sure how to get to the Kentucky side, but there are post on that as well here.

4. There is a nice boat ramp in Neville, about a mile south of the dam on OHIO side, if you are fishing from a boat.
    Bassky

5. -mike-

-mike- We got time for this?

Cant help you on the put ins, but being Im lived in Cincy for four years, my heart goes out to anyone stuck anywhere near 275, especially with all that bs road construction they have goin on right now.

For skippies, you can do one of the following- Go to bass pro shops and get the smallest size sabiki rigs they offer, then cut the extra hooks off them (I fish with three), or go to their fly fishing department and get some white crystal flash and some size 18 wet fly hooks.