close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

NEED SOME ADVICE FROM ALL YOU " KATKINGS "

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by Tadpole, May 11, 2005.

1. Hello all .... i have been catfishing for a couple years now and i'm really ready for some changes and to try some new methods and hope some of you can post some tips for me. First off i have mostly bank fished lakes in the central Ohio area for cats and also a couple times in the Hocking and Muskingum rivers. For the most part my typical night of catfishing includes putting on an egg sinker then a swivel and finally a leader of line to a 1/0 kahle hook, i usually bait up with raw shrimp, nightcrawlers and have used frozen cut shad.
    My question is .... what kind of rigs are best for fishing lakes from the bank, the slip rig with an egg sinker or should i be using a 3-way rig with 2 swivels where the line can run free through the other swivel that has the sinker on the end of it ? also, what is the best way to fish live bait ? the other night i had some nice 4" - 5" suckers and tried them, i floated one under a bobber and had it hooked through the back behind the fin ( no luck ) and i also tried fishing one on bottom hooked through the tail section and again no luck. I have some great setups as far as rod/reel combos ( Abu-Garcia 6500C3 with #30 power pro line on a 7' Bass Pro Shops CatMaxx rod and also have another Abu Garcia 7000C3 on a Cabela's 8 1/2' KingKat rod )
    anyways, i'm ready to catch some real catfish and need some advice ... should i be fishing rivers more or using live bait more or what. I have been catching some really nice #5-#7lb blue cats at Buckeye Lake all been on raw shrimp tipped with a crawlers and in the deeper parts of the lake.
    Sorry for the long post .... hope to hear some replies from you veteran catfisherman, i know i could learn a lot from you guys.