close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

need motor

Discussion in 'OGF Marketplace' started by topwater, May 29, 2007.

1. topwater

topwater

0   0   0

I need a reliable 5.0L Ford 289 or 302 for my I/O. Marinized is ideal, but a car motor would work too. Must be right hand rotation.

2. dKilla

dKilla

0   0   0

Let me know when u find a 5.0L 289...that would be interesting to see.:D

3. topwater

topwater

0   0   0

OK, I'm pretty new to owning a boat and I'm not in to muscle cars, so please clarify. The old marine survey that came with the boat says 302, but both of the techs at CP Yacht Services said it looked more like a 289, which I had never heard of. I questioned them on it, and one said that there are "some things that make him think it's a 289, not a 302, but either would bolt right up, same bolt patterns etc., just make sure you get a 5.0 that's right hand rotation"

So they are wrong? Do 5.0's only come in 302 or what?

4. dKilla

dKilla

0   0   0

5.0 Litres = 302 Cubic Inches
    4.7 Litres = 289 Cubic Inches

I believe both are the same block so the mounts would be the same. The difference in the two would be heads/stroke/bore. You may want to check out a ford musclecar forum or ebay...can probably find a good deal.
    From a reliability/repair/parts standpoint, I think the 5.0 is a better bet.

5. ohiogary

ohiogary

Rating - 100%
    7   0   0

I believe the 289 was used until like 1967, and after that ford developed the 302, and have used ever since, the 5.0 is just a metric measurement, 5 liter vs 302 cubic inch

6. truck

truck

0   0   0

If u r going to use a car engine most likely u will have to reuse the cam out of your old engine.Ck with your marine mechs:)

7. KaGee

KaGee Monkeywrench Staff Member

Rating - 100%
    18   0   0