close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

need help/asap

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by FishnJoe, May 26, 2004.

1. I just purchased a boat w/motor. I bought this without trying out on water. Problem.....having traveled over 150 miles to return home w/boat, I noticed Thick grease coming from motor. Attaching pic. I need advice "as soon as possible" thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. ShakeDown

ShakeDown OGF Staff Staff Member Admin

Hmmm...I'm no expert, but the only thing I can think of is that it's a surface lube for the tilt or steering mechanism. If so, it's prolly just extra grease.

Does it have power trim? If that was coming out of the lower unit or prop, I'd be real concerned...then again, it's hard to tell by the pic what exactly it is.

3. captnroger

captnroger OGF Webmaster

I agree with Brandon. Are there grease fittings under all that gunk? Wipe it clean and see if there are little metal fittings for a grease gun. If that's all it is, you're fine.

Can't imagine it'd be any oil coming from the motor.

4. mrfishohio

mrfishohio Recovering Fishaholic

Looks like the pivot point, where the motor turns from side to side. If so, be glad there's grease & it's not dry.

5. got another pic to help explain greese area's - locations. no nipple in area's of grease. Also the prop is missing what seems like a cover/cap.The Guy I bought it from said it was no problem without it. Seems to me that it should not be exposed.

Attached Files:

6. ShakeDown

Most props are uncapped. Thru hub exhaust.

7. shadowman

shadowman Supreme Being