close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

my first hook thru..

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by exexec, Jul 1, 2004.

1. Yep - first time in life I finally put a hook thru my finger. It went under the skin, I cut it off and pushed the pointed end with barb thru. Hurt a bit but not too bad. My question is this - what are my chances of infection-I need to be careful not get any as I heal from those with a great deal of difficulty. I have kept antibiotic cream on it since I got home and the entry points look good but it has some swelling. I need to make a "doctor ' decision before tomorrow. Thanks

2. #1 I am not a doctor, just a guy who hurts himself A LOT.

When was you last tetanus shot? If less than 5 years you may wanna get one.

Dunk that sucker in some isopropyl alcohol for a minute or two (OUCH) then slather it with triple antibiotic cream (non expired) and cover with a band aid until healed.

If you have potentially serious problems with infection I would think a doctor visit is not impredent however.

3. I would just keep putting peroxide on it.When the last time you had a tetnes shot?

4. I'm with the rest of the opinions. Call Doc, see if he recommends a tetanus shot.

Tetanus

Overview

Tetanus, commonly known as lockjaw, is a serious and potentially fatal disease that occurs when bacteria enter the body through a wound. Tetanus bacteria are found in soil and in the intestines and feces of animals and humans. Tetanus is not spread from person to person. While most people associate tetanus with stepping on a rusty nail, many other things can cause tetanus. You may be surprised to learn that you can get tetanus after surgery, burns, puncture wounds (such as a needle stick), crush wounds (such as a brick falling on your hand), ear infections, dental infections, animal bites, body piercing, and tattoos.