close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

My blackhorn 209 misfired again today

Discussion in 'Bucks and Does' started by Harry1959, Jan 6, 2018.

1. Harry1959

Harry1959 Harry

Went out before daylight this morning. Was cold, but actually a beautiful morning for deer hunting.
    Took my buddy with me who has only killed 1 deer. Let him use my tc omega loaded with 90 gr BH209. The gun was clean, breechplug cleaned with 1/8 drill bit and blown out with air compressor. Shot two primers before loading last night.... muzzle flash through the barrel and it blew the snow as a clear gun should. Brand new Winchester shotgun primers. The BH was bought last year, stored in original keg in metal box in my attached garage. He had 3 misfires at one doe this morning.
    I have been using BH 209 for around 7-8 years, I was using it when it was hard to find. 5 or 6 years ago I was using BH during a wet and snowy muzzleloader season, had electrical tape over my barrel. Had a 40 yard shot at a 140 class buck and I miss fired then too. I wrote that off on wet conditions, am I to blame today’s misfires on sub-zero temps?
    I have recommended that others try it, I’ve read posts on here of people praising it as if nothing compares to it and someone even said”never a misdfire” I always take what I hear or read with a grain of salt. Well..,,,, I’ve shot more deer with my old cva Hawken hammer gun with goex real black powder and had less issues during actual hunting conditions.
    At the range, I absolutely love the BH 209, however I became somewhat of a sceptic today for its performance in the field.
    We know going in that the BH is more difficult to ignite than pyrodex or Goex as it requires hotter ignition primers and #11 caps are a no-no. Some guns even require a special 209 Breech plug for ignition.