close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

mono vs. fireline

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by atwoodbasser, Aug 4, 2005.

1. I know this sounds dumb to all you expert fishermen, but I am relatively new to fishing, and I would like to know what would happen if I trolled w/2 rods; both with same size shad rap, same amount of line let out. The only difference would be that one would be set up w/10lb mono, and the other would be set up w/10lb fireline. Would the shad raps run at the same depth? What would happen? Thanks.

2. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

all things being equal,the fireline will take the rap deeper.not sure how much,but maybe someone with the precision trolling book can give depths for both,if you give size/type rap.

3. Slikster

Slikster Shore Bound

If you used the Fireline that has equal diameter to 10lb mono, they would both run the same depth. If you used the Fireline that has equal strength mono, it would have a smaller diameter, and run deeper.

4. As stated, the Fireline will run deeper. The 10# Fireline has a diameter of 4# mono. Here are some conversion chart depths from the Trolling Guide for the two:

10# Mono / 10# Fireline
    4' / 6.5'
    6' / 7.5'
    8' / 10'
    10' / 13'
    12' / 15'
    14' / 18'

This assumes the same amount of line out, same lure and same height of the rod tip above the water. It really shows you how much drag there is on a round (non-streamlined) body and how sensitive drag is to diameter.

The Precision Trolling Guide is a good guideline, but not the answer to all of life's questions. You will notice the data above is a little inconsistent at the shallower depths.

5. Thanks guys. I guess my question now is how can I make my shad rap consistantly run at 15'-16' using mono? What #test, how much line should I be throwing out? I want to shy away from fireline if possible.

6. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD