close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

mohican clearfork river brown trout

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by catfish12, Jan 26, 2009.

1. Hey all, I'm new to Loudonville and I'd love any/all advice on catching browns in the clearfork. I flyfish and Would like info as to how soon I can catch em and what type of flies are generally best.

2. catfish, first off, welcome to OGF. As far as catching browns on the Clearfork goes, as long as it's not frozen over it's fishable. I usually use nymphs, PT, copper johns, hares ears, caddis, etc.
    Check out the Fly Fishing forums on here and search for posts about the Fork.

3. Try the Gatton rocks area. The camp ground in mohican has fish in it but gets hit hard. It's better if you walk a little up or down from there. Toss a big streamer for the :B Madriveroutfitters.com has stream reports and what flys are working there also. The ODNR link here has a printable map with access locations. If you don't mind the drive Mad river has trout in it too. Try @ Urbana as the trout are spread out the farther south you go. Good luck let us know how you do .

Tony V

4. Mushijobah

Mushijobah Urban Angler

I had good luck at Gatton rocks, and downtown bellville. I always spin-fished, and they eagerly took little spinners!

5. There are a couple good deeper holes down from the Covered Bridge in Mohican, I've caught some larger fish on muddler minnows, and watched an ol' chap pull in footballs on a big ugly black streamer he had tied himself. When the bite gets light, I cheat and use a couple wax worms on a smallish hook. ;) As far as Gatton, if you're not familiar with that area, head up 97 towards Bellville, as you come out of Butler you cross the river, take a left just over the bridge, that will take you up to Gatton. Good luck!