Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,499 Posts
I clean boats at MHYC on the lagoons. I have seen a few good sized catfish snatching bait off of the surface. There has also been a few guys casting for bass around the point there in small bass boats. I personally have never fished it, so I wish I could be more help. Good Luck

·
Registered
22 Posts
I have done a small amount of fishing their. Its a great spot for largemouth. If you have a boat be sure to fish the gas dock, the rocks across from it and the pier going into the lake. Lots of good bass there but super clear water. Use small dia line.

·
Registered
22 Posts
The lagoons are a Mentor Public park. I fished there many times and nobody has ever said anything. I am a mentor resident but they don't know that. You will be fine fishing there unless you're smoking pot, drinking forties and stealing from peoples boats. I've done especially well with berkley gulp alive 3 inch leeches with a couple small bb's. Just flip under docks. For some reason the gas docks are loaded with fish. The shoreline boulders by the mouth are excellent too. The bass back up into the crevices so casting from shore is perfect. Hopes this helps. Good luck and let me know how u do.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I fish right at the entrance where the restaurant used to be. Lots of gills, LMB's, crappie and cats. In the winter the steelies wander up into there, but I wouldn't call it a hot spot. Just about every species in the lake find their way into the lagoons.