looking to get into tourny fishing but @ a loss

Discussion in 'Tournament Discussion' started by stumpbumper, Jan 6, 2008.

1. Im new to this sight and would first like to say "hello". Believe it or not, my wife today said to me... "You should look into fishing tournaments". After coming back too from the fainting, she then asked me, "would it be hard to get into"?
    I have a boat, not a bass boat, but it fits our needs. It's a 14ft deep-V. Just hearing my wife give me the go ahead to do something I've drempt of all my life was freaking me out, then she asked the "how would i do it" ? and now im really messed up . So, if anyone could give me some pointers or head me in the right direction it would be great appreciated and also it would be a blessing. thanks for your help

2. Reel Man

Reel Man Member

You can enter as a boater of course. Jerry and Phil both run tourney trails in the Central Ohio area. You might also think about pairing up with someone else for the first year that has already fished tourneys. Another option would be something like the Bassmaster Weekend Series. You could sign up as a boater or non boater. Top 8 fish the National tourney. You fish lake in different areas of Ohio. I'm currently looking for a non boater link for that series so if you're interested and want more info on it pm me and I'll send you more info on it.

3. myself, my husband and the southern ohio bassmasters put on a bass fishing tourny every year at Dillon State Park. all proceeds go to the american cancer society. you do earn money if you win. If interested PM me and I'll get your email and link the flyer to you. We don't have this years date set yet but we have a meeting this month to talk about the date. I think the fee last year was $50 per boat. 1st place got $700 that was with a 40 boat turn out. I believe we only had 23 boats last year but that was up from the previous year. It's a new event and this is our 3rd time doing it.