close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Looking for Jerky Recipes

Discussion in 'OGF Kitchen' started by cheezemm2, Jul 18, 2005.

1. cheezemm2

cheezemm2 Ohio State Alumni 05'

I'm curious to know if you guys have any homemade recipes for jerky...I always see things like jerky cure/seasoning but is there anyway to get around this and make your own jerky with like sea salt or kosher? I'm still a bit of a newbie to the jerky world and would like to know if it's possible to spice and preserve it safely with a homemade recipe! If you have any cajun/cracked pepper recipes/hickory that would be ideal! Thanks in advance!

-Jim

2. Soy sauce, liquid smoke, fresh ground pepper, brown sugar. Marinate in this mixture then dehydrate. .

3. davycrockett

davycrockett Fins Feathers Fur

Cheeze, This one is so simple it's pitifull. Go to Wal-Mart and buy a box of American Harvest jerky spice.It's in the isle with the dehydrators. Also buy a jerky shooter. I found mine next to the box of spices. Mix 1 packet of season and 1 packet of cure per pound of GROUND meat. I have used venison and beef and both turn out awsome! Mix all ingredients in bowl and load up the shooter. Shoot strips onto dehydrator trays and dehydrate. Time varies but usually 4 hrs will do it. I get compliments on my jerky all the time. Guys always ask me where I bought it! :D The texture is suprisingly chewy being made from ground. Let me know if you try it! :)

4. This came from the internet. It was called Cliffs fantastic Jerky:
    For best results use London Broil, or Beef Sirloin Tip Steak! I have also used Chuck Roast and Steak!

Cut meat into strips of no more that 1/4" thick.
    Mix the following ingredients:
    2/3 cup of Worcestershire sauce
    2/3 cup of Soy Sauce
    1 Tablespoon Salt
    1 Teaspoon of Black Pepper
    1 Teaspoons each of Garlic and Onion POWDER (NO SALT)