close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

LMR: Grinnel RD to Trebien RD

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by yakfish, Aug 9, 2008.

1. Any body ever float this stretch of river? It looks like about a 10 mile run. I have been looking at google maps and this looks like a good day trip that isn't too far from home. I was just wondering if there are any parts of the river that I should be aware of before making the trip? I have been kayaking for several years so I have the experience but I have never been on this stretch of river. is there even any access at grinnell rd? I have been fishing from trebein and paddling upstream and floating back down but I want to try more. any comments or suggestions?
    Thanks

2. fshnteachr

fshnteachr Lovin' the Outdoors

I put in recently at Jacoby Rd. and went to Fairgrounds Rd.. Last summer I floated Fairgrounds Rd. down to Trebein. I have done Trebein and further south 100 times. I cannot comment on Grinnel to Jacoby. Jacoby to Fairgrounds took me roughly 7 hours or so I think for a roughly 5.5 mile trip, it was long enough for me. I did stop and fish a lot though. From Jacoby to Rt. 68 was very shallow, but a very pretty stretch of river. Some ok places to fish. I caught tons or fish, but mostly very small smallies or a bunch of those creek chub things.

As you pass 235 and head towards Fairgrounds there are definately some holes to fish. I caught a couple nice smallies, nothing great, but a 10 inch smallie fights like h*ll so it was fun. Shortly after 68 and before 235 is a lowhead dam and strainer. You must portage right for this. Also, before Fairgrounds is a huge strainer, a little more difficult to portage, but do so on the right. You'll have to lift/pull your boat over some downed trees on land. Have fun :)