Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Siberts Take LEWT Team of the Year

The Western Basin Sportfishing Association (WBSA) and Lake Erie Walleye Trail (LEWT) held the final event of the 2009 Starcraft Marine, Crown Battery LEWT tournament series Sunday July 26th in Lorain after having to cancel because of weather from the original date of July 25th.

The team of Dave Frey of Avon Lake and Lonnie Hanchosky of Avon took top honors at the tournament with their basket of walleye weighing 30.01 lbs. Coming in second was Scott Gietgey of Canton and Ryan Buddie of Lakewood with 29.02 lbs and third was the team of Mike Knippenberg of Hiram and John Snow of Burton with 28.08 lbs. Rounding out the top 5 with 27.42 lbs was Mark Brumbaugh of Arcanum and Jim Stedke of Wapakoneta in 4th and Gary and Nicholas Zart of Hinckley in 5th with 27.19 lbs.

In the chase for the Cranberry Creek Marina Big Fish award the team of Shawn Ritchie of Spencer and John Wagner of Marion brought in the winning fish weighing 10.3 lbs. In addition to the cash prize they also won gift certificates and a ramp pass from Cranberry Creek. The team of Knippenburg and Snow were second for the big fish award with a walleye weighing 7.99 lbs.

Thomas Sibert of Sandusky and Tommy Sibert of Castalia hung on to capture their first LEWT Team of the Year award finishing just ahead of Gietgey and Buddie. The winning team was awarded trophies and a spinner harness combo package from Silver Streak and Catch Em Trolling Sinkers and will also receive jackets courtesy of Erie Outfitters. The runners up received a prize package from Ole Pete’s Tackle. Both teams also won a cash prize courtesy of Medina Plating. In addition to winning the title the Siberts earned a berth to the AIM Championship and also to the 2010 Cabelas National Team Championship (NTC).

Thomas Sibert kept the good fortune going by being one of the lucky winners in the Gator Classic Early Bird drawings that were held during the awards ceremony. The Gator Classic is a pro am event that will be held on September 12th and 13th in Lorain by the WBSA. Entries are still being taken for both divisions with the pro side costing $500 to participate and the amateur side costing $100. Participants will be randomly paired with a different partner from the other division each day. For more information visit the WBSA website. Greg Yarbrough and Craig Lewis were the other winners of $150 each in the early bird drawing.

The 26 teams brought 94 fish to the scales with a 4.7 lb average per fish. The top team fished in 71 foot of water north of Cleveland while the rest of the top finishing teams were around the sandbar off of Lorain. Most all teams reported catching their fish on Colorado and Willow blade harnesses.

The WBSA is a Social based Club for fishermen and women that fish in the Western & Central Basins of Lake Erie and its tributaries. Membership is open to all fisher people no matter what their location. Our goal is to present information in a manner that will help sustain and improve fishing in one of the greatest inland sport fisheries in the world. Scientific information, fishing techniques, locations and presentations will be presented at our monthly meetings by expert and knowledgeable speakers and tournament anglers in our group. These anglers are very open with techniques and methods and will help any member that is trying to learn new methods.

For more information about the LEWT you can visit www.wbsa.us Listed below are the 2009 LEWT sponsors: Starcraft Marine, Crown Battery, Medina Plating, Tom Sharpnack Chevrolet, Buick and Pontiac in Willard, South Shore Marine, Reef Runner Lures, Cranberry Creek Marina, Vics Sports Center, Sharpnack Ford, Denny Braun, Erie Outfitters, Ole Pete's Tackle, Yant Beef Jerky, Navionics, OhioGamefishing.com, Cyclops Lures, Bad Boys Tackle, Catch Em Trolling Sinkers, Michigan Stinger Spoons, Jim’s Taxidermy, Cisco Fishing Systems, LPG Fishing Systems, Harbor Drive Thru and Tackle Shop and Balboa Fish Cleaning.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts