Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any advice would be appreciated. I have been working on fishing crankbaits with no successes at all. I have a nice variety of cranks that range from shallow to deep, flat-sided to round, shad style to minnow style, etc. Anyone here know what they are doing in regards to cranks?

I've been trying them in every kind of water - (skinny, stumpy, rocky, ledges, sunken islands, humps) but can't catch a thing. I would have thought dumb luck would have intervened and given me at least one by now. Appreciate any guidance anyone on here can give.

Bobby

·
Ohio Bassman
499 Posts
I've just gotten into it this year, so I'm by no means a pro at it, but here's a few pointers that have helped me:

1.) Make sure there's fish there with your electronics... If they're not there you're gunna get skunked with any bait
2.) Bang that crankbait off of anything you can (rocks, logs, etc) and then give a good pause before you start reeling again
3.) Find a nice steady pace where you can feel the wobble through the rod tip. Too fast or too slow and there's not much action or vibration.
4.) Run the bait along drop offs parallel and perpendicular
5.) If there's current, the bass will expect the bait to be coming with the current, so throw so that it comes at them
6.) Forget what the package says as far as dive depth. Most of the listed depths are off by a few feet and are calculated for 8-10 lb test. If you use heavier line then subtract a few more feet (I will throw a 16' diver in 10' all day on 12 lb)
7.) Match baitfish patterns and use more natural colors in clear water and bright colors in dingy water

Hope this helps! Retrieve speed and picking the right spots are the biggest factors to me.

·
Registered
495 Posts