close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

learning to fish musky

Discussion in 'Muskie & Pike Discussions' started by billybob7059, Jun 8, 2005.

1. hi out there I am an avid bass and walleye fisherman. I would like to learn how to catch musky. I have never fished for them and would like to start. I am buying a boat soon and would like to get out with a musky hunter to see how they set up and fish for these monsters. If anyone has room on their boat I would love to come and learn from you. And I don't mind helping out with bait or gas. you can contact me on this site or email me on aol.thanks a ton :D
    Brad.

2. Paul Anderson

Paul Anderson Logan's Dad

Dude don't do it. Just say no! That stuff is very addicting! It's can also be terribly expensive once you are hooked. Put the musky pole down! You ain't gonna have any fun with a huge fish with rows of razor sharp teeth trying to pull you out of the boat. :D

I'm still a rookie, so you don't want to learn from me. I don't know jack yet. There is a good program for musky fishing in Ohio though. It's the Ohio Husky Musky Club. Check out the website at http://web.tusco.net/ohiohuskiemuskieclub/index.htm. There is a very high catch and release percentage among musky fishers in Ohio. I'm fishing my first club outing this weekend at Clearforik near Mansfied and am stoked.

I'm pretty much booked for the next few weeks as far as musky fishing goes, but if you haven't found anyone more experienced by then, I'd be happy to have you along. I can guarantee that we will get wet line. PM me if your interested. Good Luck.

Logan's Dad

3. The best advice I can give you is to read as much as you can about muskie fishing. Visit the many websites devoted strictly to it. The Husky Musky Club is a great one. There are many out there and most all are filled with great people willing to help.

4. crittergitter

crittergitter Multi Species Angler