Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
It's all about the doin'
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Downriggers, dipsies, in-line weights....

Does everyone use all of the above options or can a poor guy get away with not buying downriggers ?

I've trolled for salmon and steelhead on Lake Michigan and Lake Huron with guys that knew what they were doing but I want to learn.

I'm an empty nester starting this fall so I plan on getting back into Lake Erie fishing. Trolling is a different game than the Erie Dearies of the 80's - 90's
I had a boat at the islands from 1986-1994.
There is a new boat in my future for the spring and I want to shorten the learning curve starting now.

If anyone wants to mentor a 49 year old on the basics of trolling I am a willing student that gladly pitches in for gas and buys breakfast.

·
Banned
4,058 Posts
downriggers do pull fish and i know of at least two guys who love them and have them out every trip. I ran mine alot 3 years ago and did well with them. Last two years you couldnt get them out due to the 03 fish keeping 4 or 6 rods busy enough, this year i have ran em twice so far. To me, the inline boards, and dipsy's are easier and pull enough fish to keep you busy.

IMO you dont NEED to have them, but they are another good tool to have added to the arsenal on those tough days.

·
GLoomis Prostaff
247 Posts
Coot. I'm orig. from Westerm Mich. and still have downriggers on my boat. Still road-trip up there for salmon. Seldom use them down here. The same money could set you up with great rodholders and dipseys, jets, bottom bouncers, etc.
If you feel you do need them, there are a ton being sold around ohio, because of lack of use. Mike

·
Registered
18 Posts