Leaking Boat - Paul's Marine

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by CaptKC, Mar 31, 2008.

1. I bought a new boat (2003 Lund Alaskan - 20 Ft. w/ 115 HP Yamaha) a couple weeks ago. I put it on Alum this weekend to test it out and it's taking on about 5-7 gallons of water ever 30 minutes or so. After pulling the boat out, I couldn't find anywhere it could be leaking, but I'm a rookie boat owner so I don't really know what to look for. I'm going to drop it off at Paul's Marine tomorrow to get it fixed. Assuming worst case scenario, can anyone tell me what this might costs? There obviously isn't any huge gashes in the hull. I talked to a guy at Paul's Marine that said there is a Lifetime Warranty on the hull and if it's a defect in the hull, he would make sure that Lund is contacted to make it right. Also, if it's not a defect in the hull, the guy I bought the boat from said he would take care of any repair costs, but just want to know what it might run him...although, I'm a little skeptical trying to collect any money and hope he makes it right...afterall I did question him about it leaking when I bought the boat and he said it never leaked...but was quick to offer to take care of the problem.

Also, I was planning my first trip up to Lake Erie next week to fish the reefs on Wed. the 9th....anyone know how long it might take Paul's Marine to fix or repair the leak? I can't imagine it would take that long to weld any aluminum or seal any seams. Any thoughts?

Thanks.
    KC

2. Wannabitawerm

Wannabitawerm Flatulent Entreprenuer