Leaders

Discussion in 'Muskie & Pike Discussions' started by MadMac, Dec 31, 2007.

1. I'm going to make my own leaders this year and wanted the experts opinions. I'm considering either 80# fluorocarbon or just go with 7 strand wire. The wire is cheaper but do you think the fc would result in more strikes due to the low visibility? Would it hold up OK? I like 3' leaders. Any opinions/experience is greatly appreciated.

2. triton175

triton175 STX 206 Viper

I've been making and using my own fluorocarbon leaders for 2 yrs now. I think they work great. Never had a problem with a fish biting through the leader and very seldom have had to change leaders because of nicks or abrasions. I believe, but have no way to be sure, that the low visibility of the fluorocarbon increases the number of strikes.
    I use 60# Vanish leader material, about 4 ft long for trolling and 12-16 in for casting. I also use the double barrell sleeves, I don't really know if they are any better than the single tube sleeves, but they have worked well for me.

3. Can you elaborate on the double barrell sleeves? I'm not sure I know what you are talking about. Also, what knot do use with Vanish? I have alot of breakage with that stuff, I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but just not sure what.

4. triton175

triton175 STX 206 Viper

5. esox62

esox62 BORN TOO LATE

yep, i was gonna say check out leadertec. it is excellent. ive been using 70 lb flouro with double barrel crimps as described at the leadertec site. no problems yet or breakage. biggest fish is only a 37" on flouro but i like the flexibility it has for casting..it seems to disappear pretty quick in the water,couldnt say for sure if it helps but makes sense to me in clear water..

6. Bub

Bub