Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to using lead core line. Some questions I have are- how long of a mono leader do you run and do you usually run deep diving cranks or shallow? How many colors out would be a good rule of thumb to start with in 65-70ft? Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

·
5,997 Posts
i run a 50 ft leader, 5 ft depth per color and run shallow divers when running cranks. not sure if this is the best way to do it but usually manage to pull a few.
Well we run big lips or diving cranks on ours a lot. No divers on lead line. Not needed. But always be sure to look your divers up in the trolling Bible. We carry one on board. We have plugs that troll 20 ft, so if you shooting for 50 ft. be sure and subtract the plug dive.
So to go 50 ft with a 50ft diver you only want to go 30 ft, with the lead core. See alot forget that. And they are 20 ft below the fish. We also use 20 ft leaders on our lead core.

·
Perch Jerker
158 Posts
Well we run big lips or diving cranks on ours a lot. No divers on lead line. Not needed. But always be sure to look your divers up in the trolling Bible. We carry one on board. We have plugs that troll 20 ft, so if you shooting for 50 ft. be sure and subtract the plug dive.
So to go 50 ft with a 50ft diver you only want to go 30 ft, with the lead core. See alot forget that. And they are 20 ft below the fish. We also use 20 ft leaders on our lead core.
when i said shallow divers i meant shallow diving cranks. hope i didnt cause any confusion for anyone.

·
Registered
1,547 Posts

What kinda 50' diver are you using with a full core?

How many colors do you use to when your running a 20 foot plug if your running a full core?

I'm super confused right now....

·
5,997 Posts
What kinda 50' diver are you using with a full core?

How many colors do you use to when your running a 20 foot plug if your running a full core?

I'm super confused right now....