Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
live-2-fish
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey fellas, heading up to the lake in 2 weeks for a mini vacation, staying inside of Lakeside and this will be the first time visiting the lake fully equipped. Sadly I will be stuck on the bank, but I still want to give it a shot. Would anyone mind sharing some tips? Maybe a spot or two? I'd love to get into a few Lake Erie smallies and or some walleye, but I'm honestly not sure if it's even doable as I have zero experience with this lake aside from some worm and bobber fishing as a kid. I am mainly a pond and river bass angler. Anything helps! Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,705 Posts
Of you are staying at lakeside, walleye are a possibility this year, I'd try evening/ ight from the pier. Evening can also bring in schools of white bass along the shoreline. - look for birds and/or "boiling" water.

Even when the white bass aren't in, I've had fun casting from shore at/near sunset.

·
live-2-fish
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Of you are staying at lakeside, walleye are a possibility this year, I'd try evening/ ight from the pier. Evening can also bring in schools of white bass along the shoreline. - look for birds and/or "boiling" water.

Even when the white bass aren't in, I've had fun casting from shore at/near sunset.
Thanks Boss! Any tips on lure selection? I have pretty much strictly a bass background!

·
Registered
10 Posts
White spinners with a silver blade shyster style preferably. They seem to catch a fair share of fish from shore. I personally havent had much luck from the Catawba peir this yr but that can always change. Evenings at the Marble Head lighthouse. A casting /bobber with a white jig brought in aggressively can find white bass for you.

·
Registered
1,705 Posts
I've never seriously casted from shore for eyes, so I can't help with specific crank baits - I believe people like blue and silver though. May even try a mayfly rig/harness.