Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys mostly the oldtimers that have fished the lake for many years what are the worst storms youve encounterd on erie and how big do the waves really get one guy was telling me he was in twenty foot seas during a storm any truth to this

·
I jig therefore I am!
5,318 Posts
I can't imagine them being bigger than last year when the remnants of Hurricane Sandy hit. I'm by no means an expert, but that was still a serious storm by the time it hit ohio. I was watching some cams on the break walls and those waves were crashing and exploding 50' into the air or more.

Superstorm Sandy (2012)
The cold wave that merged with Hurricane Sandy at the end of October, 2012 brought strong winds and high waves across the Great Lakes. Lake Michigan recorded wave heights of 20 to 22 feet and wind gusts of 60 to 70 mph. The southern end of Lake Michigan experienced a lake level rise of 15 inches as the winds pushed water down the lake.[42][43] Lake Huron experienced 23-foot waves and a wind gust of 74 mph was recorded at Port Gratiot at the southern end of the lake.[44] Most freighters stayed in harbor instead of trying to run through the storm.
Taken from: en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_storms_on_the_Great_Lakes

It talks about Erie as well. Being he shallowest of the Great Lakes, I don't think it's capable of the same wave heights.

·
Perch Jerker
158 Posts
two winters ago i was checking out conneaut. dont remember the month but it was chrome season. couldnt hardly see the breakwall. waves just towering over it. i stood there thinking i wonder what it would to be out there in my 19ft walk around. it was a humbling experience. put the fear of mother nature in me. a little fear and respect isn't a bad thing. that lake is a angry bitch.

·
Perch Jerker
158 Posts