knox lake help

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by m_miller, May 19, 2008.

1. I just got a converted john boat set up and am hoping to make the first trip in it this weekend at knox lake with my brother. I have never owned a boat or fished any of ohio's lakes from a boat. Any tips for this lake? suggestions on baits to start with? We both like using plastics in streams and farm ponds and was hoping they would produce well at knox also. Which end of the lake should me start at?

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

2. Tube Style baits, Pig n Jig and cranks right now.

3. since im pretty new to the boat thing should i stay out of the stump field? I just have a 6hp outboard and no trolling motor yet.

4. SwollenGoat

SwollenGoat Scourge of Hoover

If you decide to risk it best advice I can give is take it slow and easy. If you do hit a stump while putting along, chances are the worst you'll do is ding/knick your prop and possibly stall the motor. (Not good, but certainly better than sheering off blades or ruining your lower unit.) When you hit an obstruction, speed and high rpm's cause the most damage. Might want to invest in a spare...;)

5. This may seem strange but do you plan on stopping and anchoring along the shore at every tree or laydown you expect to catch bass at? Makes it harder to chase bass without a TM to keep moving and find them. I would stay out of the stump field if I was you.

6. I'd stay away from the stump field as well. It's over fished. My parents owned a house on knox back in 2002 or so. Best luck I had fishing was for cats/panfish. Never had much luck with bass.